Key Article Databases
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline - Covers 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1981-Current) Criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law and industrial security.
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1985-current) Political science and international relations journals.
Books and E-books
- Oxford Law Reference Books OnlineOxford University Press - Links to reference titles covering multiple countries and topics within law subject. Search within text or browse entries.
Internet Resources on Law
- Congress.gov (THOMAS)In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress
- Nolo Legal SiteSelf help legal information including a law dictionary and a law encyclopedia.
Source: Nolo - Revised Code of WashingtonThe Revised Code of Washington (RCW) is the compilation of all permanent laws now in force. It is a collection of Session Laws (enacted by the Legislature, and signed by the Governor, or enacted via the initiative process), arranged by topic, with amendments added and repealed laws removed.
U.S. Government Internet Sites
- Congress.gov (THOMAS)In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress
- Library of CongressView exhibits, read digital library collections, search LC online databases. Obtain the full text of legislation, access to congressional documents, Congressional Record and more through THOMAS.
- U.S. House of RepresentativesNames, addresses, phone numbers of Representatives; links to House office gophers; visitor information; schedules of legislative activity; educational materials on the legislative process.
Source: U.S. House of Representatives - U.S. SenateNames, addresses, phone numbers of Senators; visitor information; schedules of legislative activity, and more.
Source: U.S. Senate - White HouseInformation on the President and Vice-President, recent speeches, tours of White House, and more.
Source: The White House - USA.govProvides access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources.
Source: U.S. General Services Administration - Federal Judicial CenterGeneral information about the Federal Judicial Center. Connects to other informational sources such as Commerce Business Daily and other governmental sites.
Source: the Federal Judicial Center
Need Help?
U.S. Code & Patents
- U.S. Code SearchThe United States Code contains the text of current public laws enacted by Congress.
Source: Office of the Law Revision Counsel - United States Patent and Trademark OfficeProvides general information about patents, trademarks, copyrights and the submission processes, as well as searchable full-text of issued patents dating back to 1976. PDF Image Patents since 1790.
How to Find Law Books
In the Library of Congress classification system used by the Whitworth Library, law books in both the main collection and reference (non-circulating) collection are shelved under call numbers beginning with these letters:
- K
- Law in general
- KF
- United States law
To search for both print books and e-books owned by the library, use the Library Catalog tab above. E-books can also be found via the Electronic Books tab above.
Citing Your Sources
The styles mainly used for Law & Legal Studies are:
- Bluebook GuideAn introduction to legal citation based on The Bluebook, 20th Edition (the style manual for citing to legal documents within the United States).
Source: Georgetown University Law Library - Introduction to Basic Legal CitationGuide to citing legal sources according to the The Bluebook, 19th Edition and the Association of Legal Writing Directors (ALWD) Citation Manual, 4th Edition.
Source: Peter W. Martin, Legal Information Institute, Cornell University
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.