Key Article Databases
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline - Covers 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. The journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
- Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1985-current) Political science and international relations journals.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1990-current) Users are able to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Full-text of scholarship from 1991 on and updated monthly, from Columbia University Press.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Includes PAIS International (1972-current) and PAIS Archive (1915-1976). Indexing/abstracting to journal articles, books, gov. documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, international publications, and more.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProQuest- (1975-current) International political science and international relations - journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers.
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowProQuest - (1871-current) Covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full-text and abstracts for dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present from around the world.
Books and E-books
- Oxford Social Sciences Reference Books OnlineOxford University Press - Some titles are available in paper: Encyclopedia of evolution is at REF QH360.2.E54 2002, Encyclopedia of human rights is at REF JC571.E673 2009, The encyclopedia of religion and nature is at REF BL31.E465 2005, The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world is at REF DS35.53.O96 2009.
- The Concise Dictionary of World Place-Names (2 ed.)Oxford University Press. History, meanings, and origin of country, region, island, city, and town names from around the world.
International Politics
- Constitution FinderDatabase containing over 400 constitutions and related documents for over 200 worldwide governments.
Source: University of Richmond - AfrobarometerAn African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa.
- EurobarometerSurveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.
- Political Database of the AmericasProvides information about institutions, political processes, national constitutions, branches of government and other subjects related to the fields of political science and government.
- Election resources on the InternetProvides a general overview of the electoral process, recent election results, and links to election data and information for over 120 countries.
Source: Manuel Álvarez-Rivera - A Dictionary of Political Biography (1 rev ed.)Oxford University Press. Biographies of more than a thousand men and women who have shaped political events across the world.
Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank - Find global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, education, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, sports, STEM, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowBlack Life in America covers the experiences and impact of African Americans from 1976-current day, as recorded by the news media.
- News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Combined search of all ProQuest newspapers from regional, national and international areas included in Whitworth's subscription.
Whitworth Departments
Multimedia
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Multidisciplinary streaming video and music collections including history, art, business, law, dance, education, healthcare, music, science, and more.
- World MapsOxford University Press, 2004. Includes over 775 maps, with locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps.
- Smithsonian Free Image Collection2.8 million free online images from the Smithsonians Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
History and World Studies Resources
Citing Your Sources
The style mainly used for Political Science is:
However, you should follow the instructions given by your professor, editor, or journal first. See the Citation Resources page for more detailed information on citation styles.
See also:
The political science student writer's manual
REF JA86 .S39 2002
REF JA86 .S39 2002
How to Find Political Science Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- JA - JC
- General political science, political theory
- JF
- Political institutions and public administration (general)
- JJ - JQ
- Political institutions and public administration: specific countries and regions
- JS
- Local government
- JV
- Colonization, emigration & immigration
- JZ
- International relations
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
