Articles and Newspapers
- Chinese Newspapers Collection: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProQuest -Online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events in China between 1832 - 1953.
- East & South Asia Database This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full-text academic journals published in various East Asian and South Asian countries.
Internet Resources
- China Academic Digital Associative Library (CADAL)Based on the ideas of co-constructing and co-sharing, CADAL is dedicated to integrating a variety of information resources and corresponding services from domestic universities, information service institutes and academic research institutes, as well as some complimentary information and services from international agencies.
Video Resources
Reference Resources
Oxford Chinese Dictionary by Call Number: Reference PL1455 .O88 2010
- Guoyu cidian 國語辭典Full title: 教育部重編國語辭典修訂本 (Recompiled National Ministry of Education National Language Dictionary, revised edition); produced by the Republic of China's Ministry of Education. A convenient and authoritative reference for classical and modern words and expressions, though less comprehensive than larger dictionaries like the Hanyu dacidian.
A Grammar of Mandarin by ISBN: 9027267758Pub. date: 2015A fascinating description of a global language, A Grammar of Mandarin combines broad perspectives with illuminating depth. Crammed with examples from everyday conversations, it aims to let the language speak for itself.
Modern Chinese Fiction by Call Number: Referemce PL2442.M3 1981
The Cambridge History of Chinese Literature by Call Number: Reference PL2265 .C36 2010China has one of the longest continuous literary traditions in the world. From the beginnings of the Chinese written language to the lively world of internet literature, these two volumes tell the story of Chinese writing, both as an instrument of the state and as a medium for culture outside the state. The chapters, organized chronologically, treat not only poetry, drama, and fiction, but also historical writing and other prose forms.
How to Find Chinese Language & Culture Books
Browse the library shelves with these call numbers:
- PL1001-1960
- Chinese language (grammars, dictionaries, etc.)
- PL2250-3208
- Chinese literature
- PL2250-2443
- History and criticism
- PL2450-2659
- Collections
- PL2661-2979
- Individual authors and works
- PL3030-3208
- Provincial, local, colonial, etc.
Need help with call numbers? Learn more >>
Want to find ebooks? Learn how to find ebooks >>
Designer unknown (Chinese, 20th century)
Go among the workers, peasants and soldiers and into the thick of struggle!, ca. 1970
BG E3/733 (chineseposters.net, IISH collection), BG E13/500 (chineseposters.net, Landsberger collection)
Source