Start Here
Many church history documents and primary sources are available in print in the library. Start your research in the library catalog by searching for an author by name.
Protestant Texts
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in English from 1473-1700. Books from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America.
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL)Classics of Christian literature from Church Fathers to the Reformation to 20th century Christian thinkers.
- Karl Barth Digital Library This link opens in a new windowAlexander Street Press -Features more than 45 volumes of Karl Barth's sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writings.
- Jonathan Edwards Center at YaleOnline collection of Edwards' writings and articles, edited published works and raw manuscripts.
- Wesley Center OnlineWritings of John Wesley, Charles Wesley, and others in the Wesleyan tradition.
Early Church
- Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL)Classics of Christian literature from Church Fathers to the Reformation to 20th century Christian thinkers.
- Fathers of the Church series
Available in print in the library. BR60.F3 J47 v. 1-130. Some volumes available online: search the library catalog by author's name.
Public Domain Digitized Works
- Sefaria LibraryFull text of historical Jewish texts, including the Mishnah, Talmud, Midrash, and more. In Hebrew and English.
- World Digital LibraryHistorical documents from around the world, digitized by the Library of Congress. UNESCO, and libraries & museums around the world.
- Archive.orgDigital versions of public domain texts, out of print books, and archived web pages.
- Hathi TrustOpen access versions of public domain material.
- Digitized Hebrew Manuscripts at the Library of CongressOver 225 manuscripts, most of them in Hebrew but some also written in cognate languages such as Judeo-Arabic, Judeo-Persian, and Yiddish. Dating from the 11th to early 20th centuries and drawn from Jewish communities throughout the world.
U.S. & U.K. Church History
- American Pamphlet Series I - 1820-1922 This link opens in a new windowReadex -Collection from the New York Historical Society
- American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new windowProQuest - Full text of scientific journals and popular magazines printed between 1740 to 1940. Titles range from general interest magazines, women's journals, children's issues and scholarly publications.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 This link opens in a new windowReadex -Articles and full-text books published in 17th- and 18th-century America. Subjects include agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, and religion.
- GALE Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowIncludes Eighteenth Century Collections Online and Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new windowGALE - Contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowGALE - Includes three primary source archival collections. Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925 Parts I & 2, and Religion, Reform, and Society
World Religions
- World Digital LibraryHistorical documents from around the world, digitized by the Library of Congress. UNESCO, and libraries & museums around the world.
