Internet Resources
- BioMed CentralBMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 open-access peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionInformation on diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness & response, healthy living, environmental health, injury, violence, & safety, travelers' health, life stages & populations, and workplace safety & health.
Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - HealthData.gov This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
- ICD-10CMLocate medical codes
- Life Sciences Commons This link opens in a new window(Free) Life Sciences Commons is an Open Access repository of life sciences literature from universities all over the world. Search by keyword, browse by discipline, or view by institution.
- MedEdPORTAL A open access publication service by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) of peer-reviewed medical education materials.
- MedicineNet.comMedTerms medical dictionary, medical news, information on diseases, symptoms, procedures, pharmaceuticals, and more.
(MedicineNet, Inc.) - MedLine PlusA variety of medical information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other health-related organizations.
- MyPlate The benefits of health eating ad up over time bite by bite. MyPlate advances and promotes dietary health for all Americans.
- NCBI Bookshelf Free online access to eBooks in life sciences and healthcare.
- National Institutes of Health NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability.
- Spokane Counts 2015Spokane Regional Health District. Spokane community health assessment: a summary of public health indicators.
- TRIP - Turning Research Into Practice This link opens in a new window(Free) Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Use the PICO search tool to find research specific to population, intervention, comparison, or outcome.
Online Health Statistic Resources
- National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Health, United States is a report on national trends in health statistics. It includes detailed tables and charts on selected measures of morbidity, mortality, health status, risk factors, and health care use, among other topics. FastStats is a site within the NCHS website that offers quick and easy access to statistics on specific health topics, from diseases and conditions to health care and insurance. National Health Interview Survey: Interactive Data Query Systems is a web-based application giving access to pre-tabulated national data on a vast array of public health indicators over time. This tool allows users to customize tables by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location. The National Vital Statistics System provides access to the Nation’s official vital statistics, including births, deaths, marriages, and divorces. The webpage features links to statistical reports, training and instruction, and downloadable data files.
- World Health Organization (WHO) The Global Health Observatory Data Repository contains a list of indicators on priority health topics, including morbidity and mortality estimates, child health and nutrition, immunization, health systems, environmental health, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, and others. The World Health Statistics Report, a yearly publication of the WHO, presents the most recent health statistics of its 194 Member States. It provides detailed charts, tables, and figures on nine areas.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) is a family of databases and related software tools with the largest collection of nationwide and state-specific hospital care data. Users can create their own tables and statistics using a free system called HCUPnet. They can also see publications and statistical briefs using HCUP reports. The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) gives access to data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage. The information is based on surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the country. Users can create summary data tables, download public use data files, or browse through MEPS reports and chart books. The National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports are yearly publications of AHRQ that track trends in care effectiveness, patient centeredness, timeliness of care, patient safety, and efficiency of care. The National Healthcare Disparities Reports have information on health care quality and access for racial, ethnic, and income groups, along with other populations.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) CDC WONDER (Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research) is a system of searchable databases with access to a wide array of public health indicators. These include measures of chronic and communicable disease, environmental health, disease and injury prevention, and occupational health. The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is a system of telephone surveys about health care, health risks, chronic conditions, and use of preventive services. The BRFSS collects data in all 50 states, Washington, DC, and three U.S. territories. It is the largest continuously conducted health survey system in the world.1 The CDC website also has a list of interactive database systems with the latest information on many health and disease topics.
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation County Health Rankings & Roadmaps It ranks the overall health status of almost every U.S. county. It offers access to measures of health outcomes like mortality and morbidity, and their determinants, such as health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and physical environment.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) CMS Statistics is a yearly reference booklet that people can download on the CMS website. It has summary information about health care expenses and use for the 2003-2016 period. More detailed Medicare data are available in the CMS Program Statistics on an annual basis, beginning with calendar year 2013. The Medicare and Medicaid Statistical Supplement has detailed statistics on Medicare, Medicaid, and other CMS programs. It has 115 tables and 67 charts that detail health expenditures for the entire U.S. population for the 2001-2013 period. Similar information is available in the CMS Data Compendium (published from 2002-2003, 2006-2011) and the CMS Program Statistics (available on an annual basis with data starting in 2013).1 Hospital Compare is an online tool created by CMS that helps users find information about the quality of care at over 4,000 Medicare-certified hospitals, nursing homes, and other providers across the United States. The CMS Data Navigator lets users search across all CMS programs using a menu-driven search application. Users can specify a particular type of data, or search for all available data types.
- Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) State Health Facts has more than 800 health indicators for all 50 states, Washington, D.C., United States Territories, and other locations. Users can view maps, relative health rankings, trends, and download data on demographics, health costs, health coverage, minority health, providers and service use, and more. Global Health Policy has graphics and polls on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key measures of health and socioeconomic status, divided by country.
- United States Census Bureau Explore Census Data is an interactive online application that provides statistics from many Census Bureau data sources. The Census Bureau website, which also hosts a Health Insurance page with statistical reports, tables, and other data on health insurance coverage and medical services utilization.
- HealthData.gov It offers data about health and health care to help researchers solve problems.1 HealthData.gov has thousands of health-related data sets from Department of Health and Human Services agencies which can be downloaded; new data sets are added regularly.
- Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care (DAHC) It was created in 1993 as a study of health care markets. The website now has data tables, maps, publications, and other resources. DAHC focuses on variations in distribution of health care resources and how they are used in different geographic regions.