HI 241 African American History Since 1865 - Courses - History - Research Guides at Whitworth University

Scholary Research and Articles

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
EBSCO - leading scholarly index to journal literature of history and culture in U.S. and Canada. Covers some journals back to 1910. Indexes 1,700 journals.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Hein - Providing legal statutes, case law and articles on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world with links to external and web content. From off-campus you will have to register (free) as an individual to access the database.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
GALE -This collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.

New York Times Historical with Index This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1851-2020) The Historical New York Times with Index - includes full-text & page images.

Free African-American Newspapers Online
Collection of links to historical newspapers and publications from the African American community.

US Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1980-current) Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal searched together.
Publications include:
New York Times (backfile from 1980 forward)
Wall Street Journal (backfile from 1984 forward)
Washington Post (backfile from 1987 forward)
Los Angeles Times (backfile from 1985 forward)
Chicago Tribune (backfile from 1985 forward)
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - (1959-current) Interdisciplinary, full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Some Bilingual (English/Spanish)

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition by The University of Chicago
Call Number: REF Z253 .U69 2010

African American History Timeline 1901-2000
Blackpast.org provides this extensive chronology of events in African American history from 1901-2000.
African American History Timeline 2001-present
Blackpast.org provides this timeline of events in African American history from 2001 to the present.

Natsihi Yearbook archive
Choose year you want to search - click Download. Wait until download finished - enter CTRL-F and type keyword into search box. Search term will be highlighted throughout text.
Whitworthian Newspaper archive
Choose year you want to search - click Download. Wait until download finishes - enter CTRL-F and type keyword into search box. Search term will be highlighted throughout text.
Whitworth Catalog archive
Choose year you want to search - click Download. Wait until download finishes - enter CTRL-F and type keyword into search box. Search term will be highlighted throughout text.
Spokesman-Review Newspaper archive
Only searches by date. Enter the date into the box at top, like this: June 29, 1956. Then read the issue on screen to find the information you want.
Spokane Daily Chronicle Newspaper archive
Only searches by date. Enter the date into the box at top, like this: June 29, 1956. Then read the issue on screen to find the information you want.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: REF E185 .E545 2009
Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: REF E 185.E545 2006
ISBN: 0195167775
Encyclopedia of African American Society by Gerald D. Jaynes (Editor)
Call Number: REF E185 .E546 2005
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Jack Salzman (Editor); Cornel West (Editor)
Call Number: REF E185.E54 1996
ISBN: 9780028973456
Milestone Documents in African American History by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: REF E184.6.M55 2010
ISBN: 9781935306054